Voter Registration Requirements

  • You need to be a United States citizen.
  • You need to be a resident of Mississippi and the county, city or town in which you're registering to vote for 30 days prior to the election.
  • You need to be at least 18 by Election Day.
  • You can't have been declared mentally incompetent by a court.
  • You can't have been convicted of a crime listed in Section 241 of the Mississippi Constitution, or any crime interpreted by the Attorney General's Office as applicable, unless you have been pardoned or had your rights of citizenship restored by the Governor, or had suffrage restored by the Legislature.
  • If you're a first-time voter who registers by mail, you're required to submit proof of identification either at the time of registration or when you vote. You can include a copy of your identification with your registration form today! Acceptable forms of ID include: a current utility bill, bank statement, valid photo ID, government check, paycheck, or other government document that shows your name and address.

Don't forget -- your state may have additional ID requirements when you go to the polls.


If you have additional questions about voting in Mississippi, please contact:

W. Heath Hillman, Assistant Secretary of State for Elections: (601)-576-2550 or (800)-829-6786

Registration Deadline

  • Postmarked by: 30 days before Election Day.

Felony Information

Under Mississippi law, you can only lose the right to vote if you are convicted of certain felonies listed in the state Constitution. If you are convicted of felonies other than those listed, you may vote at all times, including while you are incarcerated. If you lose your right to vote, you may regain it only by a two-thirds vote in the state legislature or by a governor's pardon. The felonies for which you lose the right to vote are murder, rape, bribery, theft, arson, obtaining money or goods under false pretenses, perjury, forgery, embezzlement, bigamy, and most crimes involving illegally taking property. For more information, contact the Department of Corrections by calling 601-359-5600. You can also visit the Secretary of State's website or call their elections hotline at 1-800-829-6786.

Information for Students

  • You must be a resident of the state in which you register and vote. If you're a student from Mississippi who attends school in another state, you may need to determine whether you're a Mississippi resident or a resident of the state where you attend school. The important thing to keep in mind is that you may only cast your vote in one state.
  • Here's what Mississippi says about residency: To be a resident under Mississippi law, you must actually live in the county where you are seeking to register and vote, and you must have a bona fide intent to remain there indefinitely (but not permanently).
  • If you determine you're a Mississippi resident, but will not be present in this state or will be away from your home district on Election Day, be sure to check the absentee ballot application requirements and deadlines. In addition, Mississippi residents who attend school in-state, but in a different election district, may be eligible to register and vote in the election district where they live while attending school.
  • To determine whether you're a resident of a different state where you attend school, be sure to check that state's residency requirements.

Identification Information

First-time voters in Mississippi who registered by mail must bring ONE of the following:

  • Valid photo ID, or
  • Utility bill, or
  • Bank statement, or
  • Paycheck, or
  • Government check, or
  • Other government document that shows the voter's name and address

Same Day Registration

No

Early Voting Information

If you can't make it to the polls on Election Day, you can vote early using an absentee ballot if you meet certain requirements. The deadline to return your absentee ballot is by noon 3 days before the election if returning your ballot in person, or 5:00 p.m. on the day before the election if returning your ballot by mail.

You may only vote absentee if you fall into ANY ONE of the following categories:

  • You will be outside your home county on Election Day; or
  • You are required to be at work on Election Day during the times which the polls will be open; or
  • You are a student, teacher or administrator at a college, university, junior or community college, high, junior high, elementary or grade school, whose studies or employment at such institution necessitates your absence from the county of your voting residence or spouse or dependent of such student, teacher or administrator; or
  • You have a temporary or permanent physical disability; or
  • You are sixty-ive (65) years of age or older; or
  • You are an enlisted or commissioned member of any component of the United States Armed Forces, or spouse or dependent of such member; or
  • You are a Member of the Merchant Marine or the American Red Cross, or spouse or dependent of such member; or
  • You are a disabled war veteran who is a patient in any hospital, or the spouse or dependent of such veteran; or
  • You are a civilian attached to and serving outside of the United States with any branch of the Ared Forces or with the Merchant Marine or American Red Cross, or spouse or dependent of such civilian; or
  • You are a citizen of Mississippi temporarily residing outside the territorial limits of the United States and the District of Columbia; or
  • You are the parent, spouse or dependent of a person with a temporary or permanent physical disability who is hospitalized outside his county of residence or more than fifty (50) miles away from his residence, and you will be with such person on Election Da; or
  • You are a member of the congressional delegation, or spouse or dependent of a member of the congressional delegation

Secretary of State